The Living Homeschool

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Splish Booklist

on May 30, 2009

The Old Schoolhouse is having their 2nd annual summer reading program. As most of you know, this was our first year homeschooling. So this will be our first year participating. We are excited to take part of this adventure. I am even getting in on the fun!

Now, to decide what books I want to work on for this summer………

I just finished “Don’t Make Me Count To Three”  by Ginger Plowman-a book that I will find myself reading again and again!

I need to finish Charlotte Mason’s Home Education (about half way through)

Wish List:

Keep The Siblings Lose The Rivalry by Dr. Todd Cartmell

Boundaries With Kids by Dr. Henry Cloud & Dr. John Townsend

Christy by Catherine Marshall

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Persuasions by Jane Austin

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

The Power Of A Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian

The Yada Yada Prayer Group by Neta Jackson

These are some wants and wishes and I invoke the right to substitute as needed. LOL

I encourage you and your family to join in the fun at  TOS Summer Readins Splash! Let me know if you are and what you’re reading lists are going to be!

I’ll be getting back to you on what the kids are wanting to read for the summer.

6 responses to “My Splish Booklist

  1. Miss Jocelyn says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes. Sorry it took me so long to return the note! 🙂

    Shalom,
    Miss Jocelyn, aponderingheart.com

  2. Amber says:

    I am in the midst of reading Ginger Plowman’s book and it is GOOD! Now if I can only remember everything I’ve learned when I need to use it with my kids!

    We are doing the Summer Reading Program at our libary and have to record how much we’ve read in pages. I read about 100 pages to Jacinth on the first day. She LOVES books like I do.

    I’ve been looking for a Charlotte Mason book to read. I’ve found several free online but I prefer a book that I can hold! 🙂

    • vickilynn10 says:

      You’ll be amazed how much you remember! I read only one chapter a night so I could let it sink in. I know it’ll be a repeat reader. I am also signing the kids up at the library.

  3. Debbie says:

    Great list. I am a fellow homeschooler and my kids are reading with the Summer Reading Splash. I am slowly traveling around reading the lists that are on Mr. Linky. I have the first Charlotte Mason original book on my list to read but have not started it yet. I have read The Power of a Praying Wife and need to pray those chapters over my husband again. I also have Power of a Praying Woman and Power of a Praying Parent. They are all good. I love the Jane Austin movies but have not read the books yet. My girls listened to at least some of them on audio from the library, but I have not gotten around to reading them. Some of the others on your list are new to me. I will have to check them out.

    I will check back when you get your kids book lists up. My Boys are older, 12 and almost 15.

    see you round the Splish Blog

    • vickilynn10 says:

      Glad to meet you Debbie! I also have Power of a Praying Parent, just haven’t read it yet. While reading “Praying Wife” I started writing a prayer journal and it is keeping me on track and I’ve seen much improvement in my life!

Leave a Reply

