The Living Homeschool

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s the hard stuff that is worthwhile…..

on January 15, 2009

It’s been a couple of days since I have blogged and well, I was feeling sort of down. Then as I sat here at the computer and thought about what I would write about, it came to me that I need to stop worrying about what the site looks like so much and start paying more attention to what is in the posts and content. I have been out of the habit of writing for so long that it kind of scares me a little. Not knowing what to say or how to write it.

I’m a self proclaimed perfectionist. In the past couple of years I realized how bad I was and have been steadily working on it and trying to conform to the will of God. It is very time consuming and difficult to change. Even when you know it is the right thing to do and that everyone around you will benefit. I started this venture knowing it would be more of my time and felt that it should not stop me. I feel that I need to do this, whether for myself, my family, or others out there like me.

This past year has been a whirlwind of changes in our lives. Some good, some not so good. My motto is that I believe everything happens for a reason. At first I didn’t know what to do. Then I attended a conference called “Heart To Heart” at our church. There was no study on the topic, but for some reason I started thinking about homeschooling. Anybody who knows me knows how I used to feel about it. I would claim “are you kidding, my kids would drive me crazy, I don’t have the patience for that”. After thinking about it for months, I decided that God put it on my heart to do just that (the thing that I thought I couldn’t do). Isn’t it interesting how God works in your life to teach you what he wants. So this year is my first year teaching my kids. I have an 11yr old dd and 3 ds ages 9,7,& 5. So needlessly to say, I pray ALOT and need many prayers. In the end….it’s the hard things that are worthwhile!

One response to “It’s the hard stuff that is worthwhile…..

  1. Cousin Cindy says:

    Hi Vicki, I don’t know if you remember me, I am Bobby’s sweet and darlin’ cousin from Illinois, Just kidding 😉 about the sweet and darlin’ part. I too homeschool my children. You are so right on in your description of why and how to homeschool. Called and equiped by our loving Father, in the service to train up His children in the way they should go, ( from Deut.). I would love to hear from you. Remember as many as 2 days of each week you may say, I must be nuts, I’m not smart enough to teach my kids. That, of course, is the enemy trying to undermine you. The truth is with Jesus, you are smart enough, you are loving enough, you are dedicated enough, you are fun enough. Enough is not perfect. Don’t look for perfect. Jesus doesn’t ask us for perfect, just our hearts and prayer and love. God Bless you and your sweet children. My mom is Ethel and my Dad is Roy. I have heard stories of Wyatt and the rest. They are quite fond of your children. The last time I saw you, your oldest was a toddler. She was beautiful. I began when my oldest was 10 years old. It took awhile for her to restore from the peer pressure at school. It was worth every minute and I would not have done it anyother way. She is now 19 years and we have a very close and sweet momma/daughter friendship.
    I have the same with my son who is 14 and home educated since 5 years. God Bless you and your Hubby and children. Cindy

Leave a Reply

